Bike For Mike & The Katy Flatland 2015

Apparently I haven’t posted since the MS150 in April – wow. Sorry about that. Things have been busy – we bought our first house! So, I’m sure you can imagine what I’ve been spending my time doing. It’s not biking, that’s for sure. And not putting together any LEGO sets either – though I have acquired a few big Star Wars sets that will be built once I find a place for them in the new house! I’ll also post some before/after pics of the house at some point too.

Anyway – I did do three really fabulous rides after the MS150 – Bike For Mike in Fulshear, which benefits the little town of Fulshear and the memory of Mike McCann – a long time resident and cycling advocate from the town. It’s possible the best ride I’ve done outside the MS150; the people were awesome, the winery was great, and the food was fab. I also did the Rolling Hills Challenge, which was also pretty fun – but tiring. And finally a few weeks ago I did the metric century route for the very well known Katy Flatland ride. The heat was brutal.

So, here are some pics from the rides. I’ve been up to a few other things, so more posts coming on that soon.

Enjoy!

First up is Bike for Mike:

IMG_1128

The routes
The routes
Early morning parking lot - gearing up!
Early morning parking lot – gearing up!
The starting line
The starting line
Lots 'o' people!
Lots ‘o’ people!
Rest stop 1
Rest stop 1
This has become my go-to outfit for these fun rides. I get lots of compliments on the socks! Let's go Orange!!
This has become my go-to outfit for these fun rides. I get lots of compliments on the socks! Let’s go Orange!!
Open road in Fulshear
Open road in Fulshear

IMG_1108

Rest stop at the candy shop!
Rest stop at the candy shop!

IMG_1110

Riding partners
Riding partners

IMG_1112 IMG_1113 IMG_1114 IMG_1115 IMG_1116

Back into town in Fulshear - just about at the finish line
Back into town in Fulshear – just about at the finish line
All done. Walking to the food!!
All done. Walking to the food!!

IMG_1122

Sherman, just chillin'
Sherman, just chillin’
Mmmm...
Mmmm…

IMG_1126

Fabulous place for lunch after the ride!
Fabulous place for lunch after the ride!
Some of Team ION at lunch. We ride hard!
Some of Team ION at lunch. We ride hard!

The Katy Flatland.
It was hot. So very hot.

The sun rises over the parking lot. There are about 4000 people trying to get ready to roll.
The sun rises over the parking lot. There are about 4000 people trying to get ready to roll.
A casual rolling start was nice and kept things rolling and not bunched up.
A casual rolling start was nice and kept things rolling and not bunched up.
Rolling through the Cinco Ranch area
Rolling through the Cinco Ranch area
Yup - lots of people at the rest stop. I choked down some bananas.
Yup – lots of people at the rest stop. I choked down some bananas.
Paceline. I stayed here until about 30 miles in. Then we turned into some wind and I just couldn't hang anymore. But we ripped it for quite a while.
Paceline. I stayed here until about 30 miles in. Then we turned into some wind and I just couldn’t hang anymore. But we ripped it for quite a while.
Ahh the countryside. Love the views.
Ahh the countryside. Love the views.
Hmm...where is everyone?
Hmm…where is everyone?
Wait...wait...isn't this supposed to be the Katy FLATLAND? That sure as hell looks like a hill to me!
Wait…wait…isn’t this supposed to be the Katy FLATLAND? That sure as hell looks like a hill to me!
2nd to last rest stop - found a little traveling buddy.
2nd to last rest stop – found a little traveling buddy.
Anndd....my picture at the finish line.
Anndd….my picture at the finish line.

So – not much biking lately because for the last month temps have been in the 90s, and 100s constantly. It hasn’t rained since we got hosed around Memorial Day. Hoping to get back to riding to work soon once the temps calm a tad.

Thanks for hanging around y’all. I got some LEGO reviews and stuff coming up, along with some other random stuff!

Dan

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close