Review: Tuft & Needle 10″ Foam Mattress (The *NEW* version!)

vlcsnap-2015-09-20-12h42m52s235

Yup, a king size mattress came in that little box. Though FedEx decided to beat up the box, the mattress was unharmed.

Hey everyone! I’m back with a new review of the new version of Tuft & Needle’s 10″ foam mattress. So many of you interneted your way to my review of the older version of their mattress they asked if I’d be willing to do another review of their new mattress if they sent one to me. Obviously I jumped at the chance. The timing coincidentally worked out perfectly because we just bought our first house and were looking to upgrade from our queen size T&N mattress to a king. As a disclaimer: though the mattress was provided for free, my conclusions and opinions are unbiased and my own. I’m happy to promote quality products, especially those made in the US. Also, I love sleep; and a comfortable mattress is divine.

This time around I did one better and made a comprehensive video review. I covered everything from some info about the company, to their 100 day sleep trial, plus unboxing, inflating, and a quick look at laying on it. Oh, and I tossed in a quick 1.5+ year update on the first T&N mattress – you’ll be happy to know it’s comfortable as the day we got it.

To learn more about Tuft & Needle mattress, please check out their website. I’ll write a little more below the video, too, including what’s changed since my first review.

Check it out!

So if you’re still on the fence about whether a T&N mattress is right for you, my suggestion would be to pull the trigger. You’ve got 100 days (that’s over 3 months!) to test sleep on it and make a decision. If your body doesn’t agree with it, just contact T&N and you can send it packing.

So what’s changed since my first review in June of 2014…

  • Tuft & Needle no longer offers a 5″ mattress. Personally, I never saw the point of such a thin mattress so I can’t say that will have much impact on anyone.
  • The foam and make of the mattress has changed a bit. The version we ordered in 2014 is no longer made, hence the *NEW* Version in this post’s title. The short of it is – T&N developed a new type of foam that would appeal to a wider
    vlcsnap-2015-09-20-12h43m52s88

    Slide the mattress right out of the box.

    variety of sleepers. This also resulted in a slight price increase. You can read about all the specific details about this RIGHT HERE. I think each mattress went up about $50-$100.

  • The mattress is a bit more cushy on top. To me, the older version was a more firm (which I prefer), while still being plenty forgiving. You sank into it just enough while still getting excellent support. The new foam is thicker and definitely gives more, however I’ve found that it still gives me the firmness I desire. It definitely feels different than at Tempur-Pedic – so if you don’t like how those memory foam mattresses feel then don’t worry here.
  • The trial period has increased dramatically from 30 days to 100 days.

Things that haven’t changed since my first review in June of 2014…

  • #1 rated mattress on Amazon
  • 2015 Consumer Reports Best Buy
  • Still hand made in the USA
  • Still damn comfortable
  • Still incredibly less expensive than buying a foam mattress at a mattress store. A queen size Tempur-Pedic mattress starts at $2000. The price is comparable to regular spring mattresses, and what you get here is so much more.
vlcsnap-2015-09-20-12h44m08s248

The mattress comes vacuum packed. Watch it inflate before your eyes!

I think #1 complaint I hear from people whom I recommend T&N too is “how could you buy a mattress online – you can’t lay on it to test it before spending the money?!” That’s a pretty dumb excuse to not take a chance. Can you really believe that laying a 10 different mattresses in a store for 45 seconds at a time is going to tell you how it will feel during an actual night’s sleep – or after 6 months? No, of course not. You’re still gambling. I’ve slept on a regular mattress for almost all my life. I’ve slept on a Tempur-Pedic mattress a few times (I don’t care for how they feel). And I’ve slept on those god-awful monstrosities of uncomfortableness known as pillow-tops. Take my word for it – this is worth the gamble.

Poke around the T&N website for a little while and read about the company, and how the mattresses are designed and built. We did extensive research before buying ours last year and are still confident we made the right decision.

Well folks, there ya go! I hope between the video, this post, and their website we’ve helped you narrow down your choices for a new mattress. If you have any questions please feel free to leave one in the comments. Or if you’ve ordered a T&N mattress based on my recommendation I’d also love to hear about it!

2 thoughts on “Review: Tuft & Needle 10″ Foam Mattress (The *NEW* version!)

  1. Pingback: Tuft & Needle’s 10″ mattress: a review (and a new IKEA bed frame!) | the surly biker

  2. Pingback: Tuft & Needle 10″ Mattress: Six Month Review | the surly biker

Leave a Reply

