Bob Seger rocked our Valentine’s Day, & Ready2Roll MS 150 Training; Weeks 4 & 5

So last weekend was Valentine’s Day, and because we had some hoopla scheduled we skipped the Ready 2 Roll training ride. Not a big deal. So, no pictures from last week. Instead, we went with another couple to the Hobby Center in downtown Houston to see a show: Kinky Boots. And it was fabulous. Lots of fun, super funny, and even as a guy who doesn’t attend many musicals – had a great soundtrack. Highly recommended – not for the kids though. Just adults.

After the show we went further into downtown to Prohibition Supperclub & Bar for a special Valentine’s Day dinner. It was a pretty swell place. We didn’t see the show there, as we had just come from one – but we’re planning on catching one in the future.

But, as we parted way with our friends after dinner, the wife and I continued down to the Toyota Center, as I had surprised her with tickets to see Bob Seger from the company’s box in the arena. And let me tell you – that guy can still rock. What a show. His voice was great, he was all over the stage having a great time, interacting with the audience. There wasn’t anything elaborate about his performance, but it was a solid rock & roll show. We had a goddamn blast. We both love Seger, and regretting not going to see him a number of years ago when we swung through Syracuse (we’re talking like a decade ago, here). My iPhone can’t take pictures from distances, so here are a few hard to see pics during the show, and a video I took of Old Time Rock & Roll, along with the setlist from setlist.fmIMG_0749 IMG_0751

IMG_0756 Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 11.39.34 PMHighlights included Main Street, Hollywood NightsLike A Rock – which was started with just Bob sitting at the mic with his guitar and slowly built. Damn good. And California Stars. I had read he was playing this but didn’t tell my wife – I was really hoping he’d play it and have her be surprised. This was the song we danced to at our wedding. We are both huge Wilco fans, and we’ll be seeing them in April at the Bayou Music Center. It basically brought her to tears, and my Valentine’s Day mission was a success. Also, Bob rocked his cover of it. I grabbed a concert poster to be framed and added to my collection, too. All in all, it was a fantastic day with friends, and kick ass music. If he’s coming around your neck of the woods – go! He sounds so good. Always remember, you can come back baby. Rock & roll never forgets.

So that was last week. This week we wavered on heading to the training ride because the weather forecast was a bit wishy-washy and it was also pretty far away and neither of us felt like getting up at 5am. So we slept in, and went for our own training ride in Terry Hershey and George Bush Parks. We missed having lovely rest stops with food, but it was excellent to get on the bikes since we hadn’t in two weeks.

We eeked out almost 30 miles, but the wind was really bad.
Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 11.18.57 PM

We normally could push about 50 miles on this route but due to the weather and the lack of practice over the last two weeks we took it easy.
We started at the Tollway 8 underpass.
IMG_0394 Selfie in motion. (Don’t try this at home kids)IMG_0392 It was a cloudy day, but it was pushing 70*, even with the 15mph winds. Here’s heading west in Terry Hershey Park.IMG_0382IMG_0389Part of the Terry Hershey Extension that heads underneath I-10. This is a cool little tunnel-y underpass.IMG_0391IMG_0388Love this bike. IMG_0387We stopped here in George Bush Park for a quick rest.
IMG_0384Look Ma! No hands! My wife was impressed (and annoyed) I was able to pedal over 16mph, with no hands, into the wind, and take pictures. IMG_0385Making the turn southward along Highway 6 in GBP – almost directly into that damn wind.
IMG_0383IMG_0393IMG_0381I have this section of THP set up as a course on Map My Ride – though going in the opposite direction. Here we are trying to outrun some raindrops that started to fall.IMG_0390There’s this nasty quick and really steep little hill just past Wilcrest Dr, and thanks to the light rain mixing with the loose sand/gravel at the base of the hill I nearly wiped out as I was started to pedal hard to climb. Rear wheel just decided to go out from under me to the right. Thankfully it wasn’t bad enough where I went down, I recovered from the slide, and made it up the hill as usual. But it sucks how badly a little wetness can screw you. Especially when you have slick tires and not knobby ones.IMG_0396I took this, and did a little editing, because I noticed the other day while I was commuting home (I take the same route through the park) that it reminded me of something, and all that popped into my head was:

“The way is shut. It was made by those who are dead. And the dead keep it. The way is shut.”IMG_0358It just looked so dismal and dead. Great way to wrap up the post, right? Depressing!

Next week, we plan to be back on the regular schedule with the Ready 2 Roll series. I’m not sure where we’re headed but I hope the weather holds and it’s not too far of a drive.

Please remember to donate to our fundraisers for the MS150 as well! Time is drawing near! Find links to donate to my wife and I on this page.

Thanks!

One thought on “Bob Seger rocked our Valentine’s Day, & Ready2Roll MS 150 Training; Weeks 4 & 5

Leave a Reply

