Saying Goodbye To a Classic

So, my parents are finally getting a new computer. I say finally because the one they have now is from, hmm let me think back, probably 2000. Yes, it’s about 14 years old. And, as you can imagine, it does not work well. I’m mostly posting this just to show off how much of a dinosaur this thing is. Enjoy:

Yes, that's a 4x CD writer, AND a floppy drive.

Yes, that’s a 4x CD writer, AND a floppy drive.

Oh yeah, PENTIUM 3 baby! A real screamin' machine!

Oh yeah, PENTIUM 3 baby! A real screamin’ machine!

384MB of RAM. Weeeeeeee

384MB of RAM. Weeeeeeee

I also found a copy of Myst in the CD book. Yeah, this game came out in 1993. I think it originally came with the Gateway 2000 we got way back in 1997 or so. I first played this at my neighbors and was immediately hooked. We had fun figuring out some of the puzzles. I was only 12 when it came out, and we never ended up beating it. I think I installed it on the newer computer and gave it a try but apparently I’m just not smart enough to figure this damn thing out. Haven’t tried in about 10 years though. Oh well. Anyway, a pretty kickass piece of nostalgia.

IMG_0299

Leave a Reply

