Fi’zi:k bar tape: disappointing. Back to Profile Design tape!

A couple weeks ago I rewrapped my handlebars with some Fi’zi:k [here on just Fizik] bar tape, and unfortunately it has been pretty disappointing. I’m used to a pretty cushy foam/cork combo tape from Profile Design, and this Fizik tape turned out to be really thin, offering very little comfort. I also moved my brake hoods forward a bit as an experiment, but the spot where my wrist/ulnar area rests on the handlebars had almost zero padding. It’s a shame, as the tape looks really great. I ended up ordering more of the Profile Design wrap from Amazon and rewrapped them last night. I also moved my brake hoods back up a little as the reach was just a little too far. Even without riding yet, the cushioning of the PD tape is just so nice. You may remember I previously had the same exact tape, but in orange, and currently have the orange on my commuter bike.

I highly recommend the Profile Design tape. It’s very affordable, and offers superb comfort.

Removing the Fizik tape. You can kind of see how thin it is.

Removing the Fizik tape. You can kind of see how thin it is.

The good stuff!

The good stuff!

Bars wrapped in the Profile Design tape. Noticeably thicker.

Bars wrapped in the Profile Design tape. Noticeably thicker.

IMG_0341

Leave a Reply

