New Saddle? Giddy up !

I figured it was time to get a properly fitted saddle for my Surly Cross-Check since I’m now spending a lot of time in my butt putting in lots of miles. So I went to our local Bike Barn and got fitted – which basically is just sitting on a memory foam cushion and then measuring the distance between the imprints of your sit bones.

I walked out of the store with a Specialized Avatar, a significantly different saddle than I’ve ever had on any bike.

IMG_0154.JPG

IMG_0153.JPG

Forgive the lowlight crappy photos.

But here are a few shots comparing the new, smaller, more narrow saddle as compared to my previous one:

IMG_0155.JPG

IMG_0156.JPG

It will definitely take some getting used to as it is much more narrower and definitely more firm than I am used to. But once my ass molds to it, I hope it makes long distance rides more comfy.

One thought on “New Saddle? Giddy up !

Leave a Reply

