The Bluebonnet Express Ride

Last Sunday I rode in the Bluebonnet Express ride up in Waller, another one of the recommended rides for the upcoming MS150. It’s one of the more largely attended rides, and there were well over a couple thousand people registered. But once again, for the 3rd weekend in a row, the weather was dreadful and I think that kept a lot of people away. While I was getting my bike off the car, a couple parked behind me got back in their car and drove away. lol. It was in the low 50s with the dark skies of rain, and a pretty tough wind. But I rolled out with hundreds of others to give it a shot.

I didn’t take any photos this time because I didn’t want to expose my camera to the potential rain anymore, and I didn’t bother with crappy cell-phone pics because once I got out there it was all I could do to keep going.
Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 5.25.12 PM

The wind was absolutely relentless. Oh my god. We’re talking Jason Voorhees from Friday the 13th relentless, here. It was blowing from the NNW, straight N, and NNE, flip flopping back and forth – and it was strong. Weather Channel’s info said it was a steady 20-25mph with gusts topping 30. And it was constant. There were no lulls. Also, here in the plains of Texas, there’s nothing to block it. Barely even any trees.

The first 1/4 of the ride was downwind, so it was an easy start. But once we made the turn west, the entire rest of the ride, save for a very few miles at the end, was either directly into the wind or it was a crossing-headwind. It was awful. Most of the riders bailed on the longer routers, but I stuck it out to finish the 55 mile route.
Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 5.26.05 PM

I did however discover something awesome during the 2nd leg that was directly into the wind for 17 miles: the sanctity of the pace line. The line consisted of about 15 of us, and we managed to maintain a good clip of about 12mph into the wind with some stronger riders leading up front. I will no longer point and laugh when I see a pace line of roadies on the side of the road. Sure I’ll still laugh at their terrible cycling outfits and their douchey attitudes, but not their into-the-wind strategy.

Not doing a ride this coming weekend, but will be the weekend after at the Katy Ram Challenge.

The MS150 is coming up soon! Please remember to donate to our ride, where all funds raised go to the MS Society. Please help if you can!

One thought on “The Bluebonnet Express Ride

Leave a Reply

