The End of an Era

Today I dropped off the remainder of my classroom supplies at a local elementary school. I had made a trip earlier in the week with about 10 boxes and various loose things, and the principal was more than happy to take them. I couldn’t fit everything in my car so today I made another trip during my lunch break.

I’m officially no longer an elementary school teacher.

I feel relieved, and I feel sad.

I am enjoying my new job and how less stressed, and happier I feel – but I do miss the excitement of teaching 5th graders why the world works the way it does, and sharing in their discoveries. I will continue to stand and fight for teachers and education, and will continue to post articles about it as well.

Until then…

1478

5 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. The children will miss you, as will your co-workers. Having said that, your love of teaching will live on as your supplies are used by countless future students, and even perhaps in wonderfully creative ways. I, too, am sad that creative and innovative teachers cannot continue to teach and remain happy and sane because of the never-ending supply of rules and regulations that sap the souls right out of those wonderful teachers. I am glad that you have found a new form of “happy” and wish you well. Perhaps you can tutor or mentor in the future. You never know what might come your way.

  2. I’m sure you’re an excellent teacher and will be missed by your students. How does it feel? It’s looking like this semester might be my last as a teacher too, so I’m processing that one myself.

    • Check my post about teaching vs working in the private sector. That sums up a lot of how I’m feeling.
      I have deadlines and pressures at the new job, but they aren’t bludgeoning me over the head. I feel relaxed going in to work, and relaxed coming home and relaxed when I am home.
      I do miss teaching really awesome science stuff though. Especially space stuff.

Leave a Reply

