New Year, New Distances. The First Ride of 2014

My legs hurt a new kind of hurt. This is a new record distance for me.
Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 5.59.00 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-01 at 5.59.14 PM

My average speed was about 14.6 mph for the first 30 or so miles. But then my legs hit the wall and the remainder of the 17 miles was a struggle to just make them move without hurting – and was made worse by trying to outrun the rain (I was unsuccessful).

I also need to amend my goals for 2014 I posted before. I’m going to get rid of the goal of making 2-3 minute miles because of the duration of my rides I know that’s just not possible. So instead of make it my goal to have an average speed for each ride of 14.5 or higher.

Do you have any biking goals for 2014? Post them in the comments.

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Distances. The First Ride of 2014

    • That’s awesome, and congrats on commuting by bike all year. I did it for about 4 months until school was out, but it was only about 12 miles per day, and I didn’t do it every day. You definitely should get out and ride for fun. Biking is a great way to just relax and enjoy the outdoors. It’s not a race, and when there’s no place to be you just have fun! Good luck on the Strava challenge. Yikes. Where are you located (obviously outside the US, you metric system folks, you.)

Leave a Reply

